Home Forums Ancients The fashion choices of Gauls and Germans…

This topic contains 15 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by Phil Sherlock Phil Sherlock 4 weeks ago.

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Autodidact-O-Saurus
    Autodidact-O-Saurus
    Participant

Would the purists howl if I use Warlord’s Germanic command figures as ‘Celtic’ commanders around the time of Julius Caesar?

I accidentally purchased a pack of Germanic commanders (my finger slipped right over the buy button  ) while ordering sun screen lotion. Hmmm…

They look mostly appropriate to me. Enough so that I decided to use them for my Gallic troops. I think the hair styles might be a bit off (top knots and pony tails), and they wear furs–which none of my other Celts do. But to be honest I’m not familiar with the differences between the two.

Self taught, persistently behind the times, never up to date. AKA ~ jeff
    More verbosity: http://petiteguerre.blogspot.com/

Gone Fishing
    Participant

I’ve been wondering over this very question myself. Let other, better informed, members have the last word, but it seems from my preliminary reads (mainly Ospreys at this point) that some Gauls did wear beards – perhaps it varied by tribe? – and while I haven’t seen much evidence of topknots, I wouldn’t let it concern you too much. Remember that some Germans joined the Gauls at the prospect of good violent fun (and loot), so you could always say they were Teutons mixed in with the ranks. So I say go for it!

I’ll be interested to hear what others say.

A Lot of Gaul
    A Lot of Gaul
    Participant