Question about “Fighting Sail”: if a column of line-ahead ships sails into a line of enemy a la Nelson at Trafalgar, do the ships pierce the line? We played “It is Warm Work” some years back and if the line was closed up properly (fairly easy to do) the column could not penetrate. That and the boarding system was a tad clumsy and we made mistakes doing it. That put my tiny (1/2400) flotillas back in the box. It would be nice to have a real simple set of fleet rules for age of sail – I have about 10 ships per side painted up.
This too shall pass