Home Forums General General 3-D printing and the hobby. Reply To: 3-D printing and the hobby.

gcmini
Participant

I’ve been utilizing “3D Printing” technology for about 15 years or so … long before it was called “3D Printing”.  The technology has come a long way.  I have had several FDM machines (the ones most of you are familiar with that use a plastic filament and extrude it through a heated nozzle) including a $105k machine that was the size of an American refrigerator.  I’ve also had a few desktop versions over the years.  These machines are great for quick prototypes and sometimes they are useful for masters that you are going put a lot of work into cleaning up and adding details to so that you can make a master for molding.  In my opinion these FDM/FFF machines are still a long way from being ready to produce models that are ready for sale straight off the machine.  …. and they may never be ready for that,,, that is not the purpose for which they were designed.  They are prototyping machines.
There are people producing models on these machines and selling them ,,, and good luck to them, but I don’t think I’d ever consider a model made from FDM/FFF technology, especially anything with low sloped surfaces (think of the hood (bonnet) of a car or the wing of an airplane,,, the layer lines create a stair-step look that in my opinion is unacceptable.  If you are considering purchasing a model made with this technology, insist on very close up (Macro) photos, not photos taken from a foot away or more.