Home Forums General Game Design Do your rules allow for double elimination in melee or assaul? Reply To: Do your rules allow for double elimination in melee or assaul?

#98606
Chris Pringle
Participant

My 19th-century big battle rules allow it (BBB). In the event of a tie, both sides lose a base and fight again. Theoretically two 6-base divisions of 9,000+ men could fight to mutual annihilation, but that never happens; in practice, over 100s of games I think I have only ever seen two successive ties a couple of times ever.

However, it is not unknown for small cavalry brigades to wipe each other out. These are typically 2 bases strong, two such will quite often clash on a flank, and since a unit reduced to a single base is removed from the table, a tie results in both being destroyed. This seems entirely reasonable (blown horses, pursuers and pursued both being scattered and combat-irrelevant, etc).

Your rationalization of your WWI example works for me. I think such an outcome is fine.

Chris

Bloody Big BATTLES!

https://uk.groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/BBB_wargames/info

http://bloodybigbattles.blogspot.com/