Home Forums Fantasy General Fantasy 6mm Scale Fantasy Regiments

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Participant

We had some talk here about Fantasy Regiments, or at least One Page Rules, which although partly behind a Patreon paywall, still are pretty appealing. So being the nutcase that I am I’m giving it a shot at 6mm scale with conversions from inches to centimeters (as a builder I dislike the metric system, but what can you do?) Frankly, the new Microworld 3mm line is so visually pleasing for Warmaster, and so totally in the scale of that game’s intent, that I want to do something different with my 6mm fantasy armies now. I read and reread my old WFB Rules, compared with other systems, and with One Page Rules, and the amount of grit seems very appealing.

So I got some bases cut by Litko, and am giving it a shot. The bases seem ever so slightly big but they’re 10mm to a side which makes them modular with a load of other systems, likewise the cavalry base is 10x20mm. So I feel like I can live with it. And when they’re all set up with basing material and such I have a feeling they’ll look much better.

These are Undead from my “Fallen Empire” forces. Each base has a little 1/8” drill hole in it where I’m seating a 1/16” thick ND magnet. This lets them attach to a unit base made of steel. It also means they can attach nicely to the head of a roofing nail for painting without glue, since the pull force of a magnet that size is about a half pound, so quite strong.

Its a busy summer coming up, which I guess is lucky for me under the circs, but it’s nice to have a project like this on hand which didn’t require a ton of mobilizing to start – just minis I had on hand and $12 in laser cut bases and a slight change in perspective. We’ll see!

Participant

We had some talk here about Fantasy Regiments, or at least One Page Rules, which although partly behind a Patreon paywall, still are pretty appealing.