Home Forums General General A military background

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author

Apart from a stint in that noted para-military force, the Boy Scouts, I have no experience in the military.

Our little wargaming group has five members (enough to fit around a table). The last & quite recent two members have military backgrounds. One is an ex-Australian army major & the most recent, an ex-British officer who had served in Bosnia. Neither had ever gamed before but both are notable in performing extraordinarily well in the bloodless table top conflicts with our little plastic & metal figures.

I’m no great believer in a close relationship between gaming & actual warfare but it seems very co-incidental that our two ex-army pals can triumph on the gaming table even with a limited knowledge of the various periods & rule sets we use. God help me when they become more familiar with the rules!

I know we have a number of military types on TWW. Do they find their military background gives them any advantage?

donald

Participant

The retired and current military people I’ve played with if from a combat arms background have a much better grasp on the essentials; concentration of effort, application of fires and maneuver,  allocation of supports etc.

Part of the reason I largely stay away from the more “realistic” varieties of wargaming, especially 20th century, moderns and proxy-modern sci-fi, is that I know I could never compete, in terms of expertise, with people who come from actual military backgrounds.