Home Forums Terrain and Scenery Aesthetic casualty markers…

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I’m looking for ideas for casualty markers. I’ve been using short lengths of pipe cleaners in different colors to represent different factors. Right now I’m focusing on Impetus which requires knowing if a unit has been disordered and how many VBU it’s lost. Pipe cleaners are practical, but not very pretty. So I’m thinking about using a 1″ round base with battlefield detritus on it, probably discarded shields and two spears jutting up from the ground. I could put beads on the spears to keep track of values. Also thinking about creating dials but have less enthusiasm for that idea. Still in the “mulling it over” phase.

But I was wondering what other creative and aesthetically pleasing ways of tracking values on the war gaming table are in use. What do you do?

TIA!

Self taught, persistently behind the times, never up to date. AKA ~ jeff
    More verbosity: http://petiteguerre.blogspot.com/

Participant

The vast majority of my wargaming has been 20mm WWII.  I have based my figures so that one or more are simly removed from the table.  Where that is not possible, e.g. a heavy weapon base, then the old white plastic curtain rings come into use!  When I played Peter Gilder’s “In the Grand Manner” roster sheets were the way to track casualties.  The only other game I can remember having to record losses from a figure block was “Blucher” where we used 6mm dice in tiny 6mm dice ‘trays’ stuck on the unit’s base.

Creative and aesthetically pleasing doesn’t really bother me, it’s more the practicality that I need.

Play is what makes life bearable - Michael Rosen

Participant