Home Forums Ancients Age of Hannibal question…

This topic contains 8 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by A Lot of Gaul A Lot of Gaul 1 week, 3 days ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Autodidact-O-Saurus
    Autodidact-O-Saurus
    Participant

I’m planning a solo AoH game this weekend using 28mm Basic Impetus armies. So I’ve been doinking around setting up a spreadsheet to help calculate the AoH points value of BI armies. (FYI: The armies come in around 650 points or so with one commander.) Now here’s my question: When calculating the value of archers, does the unit need to be given the “missiles [ranged]” ability? That would be an extra 5 points in cost for a total of 35 points. Or, are archers already equipped with bows at their base cost of 30 points?

What say ye?

Self taught, persistently behind the times, never up to date. AKA ~ jeff
    More verbosity: http://petiteguerre.blogspot.com/

Greg M
    Greg M
    Participant

My opinion would be that Archer units have their bows included in the point cost already.  Unit types with missiles as ‘optional’ would need to pay extra points for their new weapons.

A Lot of Gaul
    A Lot of Gaul
    Participant

In the three scenarios provided in the AoH rulebook, units of Skirmishers, Archers and Light Horse all have the Ranged Missiles ability as part of their basic points cost, e.g. Archers have the ability for their base cost of 30 points. As Greg mentioned, the +5 for the Ranged Missile ability on the Traits & Abilities chart appears to be for customizing units that carry missiles as an Optional ability on the Unit Reference Sheet.

Cheers,
    Scott

"Experience is the teacher of all things."
    ~ Gaius Julius Caesar

Autodidact-O-Saurus
    Autodidact-O-Saurus
    Participant