Home Forums WWI Any artillerymen uniform advice please?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Rolph
    Participant

About to start on what is likely to be my last big project. My eyes are shot and, over the past four months, arthritis in my thumbs has gone from an initial diagnosis and minor niggle to constant pain exacerbated by any fine manipulation with my hands…such as painting/modelling.

Somewhere along the way I became inspired to do the Great War in 6mm at one base = one company and have now ordered three Infantry Corps and three Cavalry Divisions – something like 700+ bases. I suspect completing it will demonstrate that this sort of thing will be beyond my abilities henceforward.

Anyway onto the advice part of this post. Bearing in mind that it’s 6mm we’re talking about and that I am a less than skilled painter anyway, does anyone know the uniform colours used by the artillerymen of the French, German and British in 1914. I suspect that it is basically their respective infantry uniforms, although frequently they might be in shirtsleeves or shirtless, but I can’t seem to find any images to confirm or contradict that. So British – khaki, German –  grey green and French – blue tunic and red trousers? Any help appreciated, but please don’t expend any energy on researching the official regimental eye colour or similar – such detail will rapidly be lost in my work.

Secondly, I will be labelling the bases once complete with their battalion and regiment name and/or number. Does anyone know of any convention in this regard for

1) the precedence of numbers/type over names or vice versa and

2) any standard abbreviations for the various mounted types – chasseur a cheval, dragoons, Dragonen, hussars, hussards, Husaren, lancers, lanciers, Uhlans (in the three languages)

So, bearing in mind I will be working with 12-14 characters, how might the following examples be best abbreviated?