Home Forums Air and Sea Naval Best paints for WW2 naval colours

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Brendan Morrissey
    Participant

I hope this doesn’t sound too lame, but my eyesight is not what it was and colour co-ordination/recognition is, if not entirely a thing of the past then certainly heading that way, plus I’m new to WW2 naval matters, so…..I was wondering if anyone could give me the benefit of their wisdom on which paints they use for (primarily) RN coastal forces, particularly in 1:600 or 1:700.  I have just bought the Coastal Craft series of booklets (volumes 1-4 published for far, volume 5 in progress) and have listed below the paint references for the various colour schemes that appear in the booklets.  I use mainly Foundry and Tamiya acrylics, so any cross-references to those ranges would be particularly appreciated.

• 507 A, B & C;
    • MS1, 2, 3, 4 & 4A;
    • B5, 6, 15, 20, 30 & 55;
    • G5, 10, 20, & 45;
    • Western Approaches Blue & Green;
    • Mountbatten Light & Dark Pink.

Thanks for any help.

Not Connard Sage
    Participant

There’s a company called Life Color that produce ‘authentic’ naval paints. I haven’t used their products, I just saw the name somewhere.

Found it!

https://mjwmodels.co.uk/lc-cs33-royal-navy-wwii-eastern-approach—early-war-set-1-22ml-x-6-4084-p.asp

https://mjwmodels.co.uk/lc-cs34-royal-navy-wwii-western-approach—late-war-set-2-22ml-x-6-4085-p.asp

"I go online sometimes, but everyone's spelling is really bad. It's... depressing."

grizzlymc
    Participant

Somebody took over the old White Ensign paints. Enamels in Humbrol type tins, often needing a second coat.

Not Connard Sage
    Participant

Somebody took over the old White Ensign paints. Enamels in Humbrol type tins, often needing a second coat.

These?

Colourcoats Sea

"I go online sometimes, but everyone's spelling is really bad. It's... depressing."

Etranger
    Participant

These? Colourcoats Sea