Home Forums Nordic Weasel Games Sci-fi / Fantasy Blade and Lockpick & Ursurper SOLO RPG campaign test.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Thomaston
    Participant

Hi, I’m not good at writing reviews and wanted to try do a battle report so I did this.

The rules used are Blade and Lockpick for most things and Usurper for non combat interactions and character creation.

Sorry for the quality of the images and spelling mistakes.

Images began blurry, got more blurry during down scale and then very blurry getting it to upload size.

Ivan Sorensen
    Participant

Everything about this looks wonderful 🙂

Thank you for sharing.

Nordic Weasel Games
    https://www.wargamevault.com/browse/pub/5701/Nordic-Weasel-Games?src=browse5701

Great stuff !

Love the figures and board \ map. Makes me wonder why I always go for the complicated path – 1/72 etc.

Thomaston
    Participant

Thanks for the kind words

My thoughts on using the rules.

I have a lot of NWG rules, including Dungeon Scum but I prefered the simplicity of Blade and Lockpick and the narrative friendliness of Usurper’s action resolution table. These two rules mesh very well, although Dungeon Scum would work for more detailed fights, but I thought Usurper was too slow for fights.

Next action table on p.54 of Dungeon Scum is by far the most useful table for my solo play.

And it’s a D6 table so I can put it on a blank dice.

I have a thing against anything not D6, the D100 tables were a little annoying but consistent for both rules. A lot of the tables in the solo section are the same but I like the layout in blade and lockpick more.

The entire play above took less than 20 rolls.