Home Forums Ancients Carthaginians on the march…

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Much inspired by JJ’s work (aka Carojon)–particularly his Dacians–I broke out some unpainted Carthaginian figures I’ve been hauling around for at least 10 years. I’m currently aiming to create a couple of Basic Impetus armies starting with Carthaginian and Polybian Roman. Since I’ve had some Numidian light horse and a largish collection of Gauls based for DBA/M around for an equally long time, I plan on rebasing them to increase the numbers for either side. Here are my first completed units for the Punic side. I’ve got several elephants and Carthaginian horse on the painting table and some Romans that I can rebase, too. These are mostly the old Navigator figures (now Magister Militum, I believe). The Numidian horse are Warlord sculpts and the Gauls are Old Glory.

First, the completed units in formation:

Next the Punic spearmen:

Carthaginians always seem to have veterans in (mostly) Roman kit:

Next, some Citizen soldiers:

And the Numidian horse (I’ve actually completed 5 stands of these):

Naturally, there are some Iberians along for the adventure:

And the Gallic contingent:

Self taught, persistently behind the times, never up to date. AKA ~ jeff
    More verbosity: http://petiteguerre.blogspot.com/

Participant

Two weeks later and I have completed some elephants….

First, a Miniature Figurines model which I bought in 1980. I had a part-time job in a hobby shop in California and brought most of my paycheck home in the form of lead. I thought about replacing the crew figures with more modern, better sculpted figures but my collector’s completest instinct kicked in and I couldn’t bear to chuck the original crew in the bin.

Next, an elephant bought with the rest of the Navigator Carthaginians, circa 2010. I really like this model and I think it represents the North African bush elephant more accruately than most other elephant figures.