Home Forums General General Civilians, oh where art thou?

Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Participant

It is about time that a company began producing packs of simple civilians across a range of genres.
    To find civilians at the moment requires a day hunting the interweb and finding them tucked into nooks and crannies, often dusty and forgotten by their creators.
    And, when you do you find them they tend to be village yokel, blacksmith, labouring peasant, armed peasant, woman with baby, innkeeper, bar wench and strumpet.
    Before you jump in quoting Reaper, Perry, Lead Adventure Miniatures etc., imagine trying to run a skirmish is a small town with only these…
    Now, I am a producer of skirmish rules and I like to put on detailed participation games. I can get buildings, terrain, boards, scatter terrain and, indeed, anything I need, but a decent range of local people.
    The funny thing is that if I wanted zombie civilians I can get them in almost infinte variety. Bob the former truck mechanic, Wendy the ravenous nurse, Aldric the dung gatherer and his enormous family, now rotting and trotting about. Live civilians? Refer to the list above.
    Perhaps I should get off my arse and sculpt them myself…?

Keymaster

28mm?

I suspect it is the cost.

A pack of 10 infantry can realistically sell if it is made of 2 poses with 5 of each.
    Say £200.00 per 28mm sculpt.
    That is £400.00 of cost to recoup.

A civilian pack of 2 poses would be less desirable, you could probably do well to have 5 poses with 2 of each in the pack.
    £1000.00 of costs to recoup.

So the basic cost of a pack of civilians is quite a bit more.

Then factor in that most armies will require several packs of the above infantry, a single customer could conceivably buy 5 packs of infantry.
    A customer buying civilians will be less common than one buying soldiers, and they are less likely to buy as many packs.