Home Forums Terrain and Scenery complete NON modeler trying to build something out of poly

Viewing 39 posts - 1 through 39 (of 39 total)
  • Author
    gamegonegood
    Participant

Hi, Well I am a terrible painter & modeler Noob, so I saw I had some poly in the rubbish and thought I would give making something, I looked at it a decided a concrete bunker,

first I made a mess, then assembled 4 pieces together and glued , but i def needed the cocktail sticks, and I would recomend pushing them all the way in and leaving them in the model.

I had some modeling plastic sheets for the roof and base

gamegonegood
    Participant

it took me about 20 mins to do this, Im not waiting for glue to dry, now for the messy filler, I dont know if I want to do this.

I watched youtube kn the methods, but Im skipping all the hard bits, and I have never made a model before

I have no flock , just got paint, I have just out a little filler on it and textured the lid with a bit . I only mixed a small amount of filler and i did not use as much as i should of BUT it was messy

gamegonegood
    Participant

i have not put a door in, Im gooing to paint it in, the more you work on it the more you value it. Im definatly learning as i go

Mike
    Keymaster

Good luck, may I say that the crumbly white polystyrene is a pita to work with, so don’t let it put you off.

gamegonegood
    Participant

Thanks Mike, I am not liking the waiting for glue and filler to dry, but Its going to be my first gun of navarone emplacement 🙂

Geof Downton
    Participant

first I made a mess…

Everybody has to start somewhere, and it’s usually with a mess. Keep the glue off the furniture and the sharp bits of the knives away from your fingers and you’ll do fine!

One who puts on his armour should not boast like one who takes it off.
    Ahab, King of Israel; 1 Kings 20:11

gamegonegood
    Participant

sage advice thanks

willz
    Participant