Home Forums General Game Design Do you distribute via Wargames Vault? If so, how's it been?

This topic contains 26 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by Ivan Sorensen Ivan Sorensen 1 week, 3 days ago.

Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Autodidact-O-Saurus
    Autodidact-O-Saurus
    Participant

Over the years I’ve written a number of rule sets but only distributed them via my own web pages and blogs. I’ve been thinking about sprucing them up and distributing via Wargames Vault. I may very well not charge anything for my rules (since most have been available for free for so long) but it would be nice to see wider distribution. (On the other hand I am finishing up 110 ship sheets for my ironclad rules so I may charge a dollar or two for that.) I know we have a number of authors on TWW who use WV. Is it worth it? Do you need to do much once you’ve created an account and uploaded your products?

TIA!

Self taught, persistently behind the times, never up to date. AKA ~ jeff
    More verbosity: http://petiteguerre.blogspot.com/

Retroboom
    Retroboom
    Participant

I put mine up at “pay what you want” and got about 100 download in the first couple weeks, which was about as many as I’d gotten in the previous year+ from my website. They also offer other conveniences, such as the ability to contact everyone who has downloaded the game to let them know there is a free updated pdf they can come download.

90+% of my downloads are for free, but the “tip jar” motif is encouraging 🙂

I’d recommend it.

www.RetroBoom.com
    Stafford, Va. Let's play!

Mike
    Mike
    Keymaster

My rules are on WV.
    I would have them on my site but EU regulation is such that I would need to charge VAT for sales of automatic digital products.
    I could avoid that by manually sending them, but that could mean a 12 hour wait for some customers, so decided to let someone else do that for me.
    They take quite a cut, but I have zero work to do.