Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Silent Invader
    Participant

I’m new to FPW and am looking for cinematic inspiration.

I’ve found and watched the 1987 French movie Champ d’Honneur on YouTube. Does anyone know of any others?

Figure-wise, to get a project started I’ve ordered a couple of boxes of Bavarian Infantry from Eagles of Empire. I doubt I’ll be going the big battles route (too many other projects), focussing instead on patrols, skirmish, etc.

Guy Farrish
    Participant

Frankly not really.

There is a (very) short black and white silent film ‘The Last Cartridges’ (1897) you can see here The Last Cartridges on the Internet Archive. It is a very small vignette of the defence of a farmhouse by French soldiers based on a painting but may inspire small unit actions.

As for the rest there is a French West German Film – Die Gans von Sedan (1959) (English title: Without Trumpet or Drum) which is a comedic take on the post Sedan phase. Unlikely to inspire a wargame despite being a not bad film.

Beyond that…

I’m always surprised no-one appears to have filmed Zola’s La Debacle – a sort of buddy film waiting to be made – though obviously a pretty downbeat one given the ending. Some fairly drastic editing should make a really good war movie – or a really sad buddy movie/love story. I guess the problem is there are actually about three film in there minimum.

Not Connard Sage
    Participant