Home Forums General General Gaming as Modellling

Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Don Glewwe
    Participant

Play or Game?  led to this old (for me) nut.

Whatever the term/word used, the activity around/on the tabletop is…what?

I think it is modelling the action.

I’ve spent the past 50+ years modelling (sometimes getting paid for it!).  Figures, buildings. things, stuff…it’s all a matter of getting things to pass as things they aren’t.

Games are the same.  Stuff that isn’t being passed off/accepted as stuff that was/is/may be.  This is basic, I know, but I think the idea that the stuff isn’t as important as the what happened (or will happen, or what might happen) is lost in the representation on the tabletop.

wow…this is icoherent. Can you guess that I’m a model builder and not a wordsmith?

umm…delete?   dunno.    I’ll let it sit for a bit, and we”ll see.

https://brawlfactory.net/

Etranger
    Participant

It’s modelling in the sense of representing an event/events in a modelled real (or imaginary) setting, with various degrees of abstraction and assumption built into the framework and mechanisms used to create that model in the first place. It’s like (& sometimes is) a computer or mathematical model.

• This reply was modified 2 years, 10 months ago by Etranger.
    MartinR
    Participant

Yes, Games are models of reality, with varying degrees of abstraction and accuracy. The main limitation is that unlike e.g. economic or scientific models, they also need to be fun to play!

"Mistakes in the initial deployment cannot be rectified" - Helmuth von Moltke

Not Connard Sage
    Participant

I just play wargames. I even do naval gaming.

I don’t do navel gazing. Life’s too short to analyse everything we do.

"I go online sometimes, but everyone's spelling is really bad. It's... depressing."

Ruarigh
    Participant

Life’s too short to analyse everything we do.

And yet, here we are!