Home Forums General General Insuring one's collection…

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Participant

My gaming inventory system is coming along nicely. Since it started out as a way for me to provide a replacement cost for a book collection, I’m now thinking about extending that to my gaming stuff. Finding the retail value of unpainted (still in production) figures is easy enough these days. But how do you value one’s painting and basing?

There are a couple of companies that specialize in insuring collections but I doubt any of them are used to dealing with wargaming collections. Once I have a well documented collection I’ll be approaching them to see how much an insurance rider or separate policy would be.  Still, I’d like to be able to base my value estimates on real world prices. What is the typical commercial price for painting and basing 28mm figures these days?

TIA

Self taught, persistently behind the times, never up to date. AKA ~ jeff
    More verbosity: http://petiteguerre.blogspot.com/

Keymaster

What is the typical commercial price for painting and basing 28mm figures these days?

Often depends on colour scheme, Naps and complicated camo often command more.
    But anywhere between £5.00 to £10.00 for what I guess most would class as TableTop Mass Battle standard.
    Character models to a high standard, £150 + per model

Participant

One thing to remember is to include your paints and brushes etc in the list, you can easily have £300 or more worth without even realising.

I can’t imagine how insuring these will work. Monetary value of the minis and equipments is easy enough but man all those hours I spent scuplting, converting and painting is truely priceless.

Participant