Home Forums Terrain and Scenery MDF Buildings> Any good?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I am looking at getting some MDF lazer cut buildings for modern 28mm games.

I have never used these before, so I am not sure if they are any good to game with or paint or model.

They look kinda ‘sterile’ to me, but I was looking for input form those who have used them in the past.

Has anybody used MDF buildings, and what do you think of them (for gaming, painting, looks, etc…)?

Thanks!

"What EXACTLY is a 'Headpiece of the Staff of Ra' "?
    richarDISNEY

Participant

I think some of them look ok to me and its a good way forward to collecting buildings, not figured it out yet whats the price range like compared to say a Hovels building

Willyoupleasehelpmefixmykeyboard?Thespacebarisbroken!

Participant

I’ve built loads of them over the past couple of years, from a bunch of different companies. The quality really varies from company to company; 4Ground is king of the hill as far as MDF terrain goes but it sure isn’t cheap, even if you blag some kind of discount. But there has been a very visible continual increase in quality over time (not just for 4Ground too, and they started out strong).

But there is a lot of choice out there, with tons of people selling their own designs that range from really basic boxes to impressively detailed things with moving parts. When it comes to detailing though I’ve never let a single kit be left just as built, the more basic kits are often really good for giving something to practice building your own stuff off of. Actually, images will probably be more helpful here…