Home › Forums › Ambush Alley Games › Force on Force › More Newbie Questions on Reactions
- This topic has 9 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 4 months, 3 weeks ago by Papasan.
11/11/2022 at 06:29 #180050
It seems the problem with playing infrequently is that I have to relearn the reaction rules every time I return to the game. So, with that in mind, two stupid questions:
Part I: If an initiative unit A elects to move and fire on non-initiative unit B, which prompts a fire reaction from non-initiative units B and C then. B beats A but C fails. So:
- Even though you resolve attacks starting with the non-initiative unit which failed, you don’t apply the effects immediately right? C failed and therefore shoots after A fires. That means you roll C’s attack but when A fires at B you don’t take into account the effects of C’s attacks. Is this about right?
- A only fires at B, as this was his action. Even though two units fire at him and even though he rolls two different reaction tests, he only ever gets to fire once.
- This does mean that (with the exception of overwatch) initiative units can only participate in one round of fire, right?
Part II: After several more actions it comes time for the non-initiative player to activate any of his poor units that have not reacted yet. He activates unit D which fires on initiative unit A.
- A still cannot respond correct? As I read it, an initiative unit cannot react unless they forfeit their activation or are on overwatch.
I really love this game but I need to find a way to play more often as I keep forgetting the (very important) nuances of the reaction system.
Thanks in advance.12/11/2022 at 14:31 #180092
The priority is B attacks A. Apply the effects. Then A, if it’s possible, attacks first B and then C with a -1 die because it’s made an attack on B. Then C, if it’s possible, attacks A.
Initiative units can respond to attacks unitl they run out of dice. Only non regular unit have some limits, because they can react only once.
A can respond, if it’s a regular unit.12/11/2022 at 21:45 #180096
Firstly, thank you for your reply. I appreciate the timely nature and your effort in doing so! Second, though this seems logical to me (and is how I used to play it) I cannot find anything in the rulebook to support this interpretation, which is why I asked.
From the book “When the player with initiative announces that he is activating a unit to move and/or fire within line of sight of opposing units, those units may choose to React with fire or movement of their own. These Reactions may result in an exchange of fire (called a Round of Fire) or a frenzied rush for cover.”
and then later
“Non-initiative units may choose to React to the actions of an initiative unit within their Line of Sight by engaging it in a round of normal or Suppression fire. As with Reaction movement, a Reaction Test must be made to see if the Reaction fire occurs before or after the initiative
unit’s declared action (See Reaction Tests, pg. 68). If the non-initiative unit wins the Reaction Test, the Round of Fire will be resolved before the initiative unit performs its declared actions. If that action is to return fire, the non-initiative unit will fire first in the Round of Fire.
If the initiative unit wins the Reaction Test, the initiative unit will fire first in the round of fire.
Non-initiative units lose one die of firepower for each reaction fire they declare after the first. Noninitiative units may continue to React with fire as long as they have remaining Firepower dice. Non-initiative units that fail to win a Reaction test may not React for the
remainder of the turn and may only return fire if fired upon (a Reaction test is still made to determine who fires first in the round of fire, though). Note that Irregular units may only React with fire once per turn.” This seems to support your idea but for the fact that again it only ever mentions non initiative units reacting to fire of initiative units.
Finally. for the order of reactions:
“Once all Reaction Tests have been rolled, resolve
Reactions in which the non-initiative units lost the
Reaction Test. Start with the non-initiative unit
nearest to the activated initiative unit and work
outward, resolving each Reaction in turn.
Finally, resolve all Reactions in which the noninitiative
unit won the Reaction Test. Start with
the non-initiative unit nearest to the activated
initiative unit and work outward, resolving each
Reaction in turn.”
This seems like a bizarre order to me too.
I hope I don’t come across as too bothersome in this post, I appreciate your response and am only trying to explain my confusion and hoepfully find a resolution with support in the rulebook so I don’t teach the new players I will be showing the game anything incorrect.
Thanks,13/11/2022 at 14:11 #180108
Yeah, the rules are a bit inconclusive. Sometime they are more about interpretation and logic about the actions to determine the course of the game.21/12/2022 at 12:36 #181378
It’s always difficult to remember the details if you don’t play this game for a while, Aiden.
Maggico pretty much nailed it in his first response, though you might be playing it slightly out of kilter:
A declares his intent to move and then fire on B.
C decides to interrupt this action with fire but loses the reaction test so the interruption fails.
A now finishes it’s move and fires on B but loses the reaction test and B fires first.
Any results are immediately applied, if A is still able it may now fire on B and any results are immediately applied.
A may then fire on C (-1FP) any results are immediately applied, if C is able it may now return fire on A and any results are immediately applied. That Initiative action is completed.
Part II. Unit D is activated and declares it will fire on A, roll a reaction test; A, if able, can still respond (-2FP).
If C had won its reaction with A that combat would be resolved before A took on B (-1FP), which is part of the aim to weaken the attack on the targeted unit with interruptions. It doesn’t always work !
The non initiative units are interrupting or responding to the initiative units hence the rules only ever mentions non initiative units reacting to fire of initiative units.
Hopefully this makes some sense for you.05/01/2023 at 04:09 #181867
Thank you for helping clear this up! I appreciate the thorough explanation, it really helps. I only ever get to play a game or two at a time before breaking for several months and subsequently rereading this section of the book. This helps a lot moving forward!12/01/2023 at 13:42 #182134thomas poulsenParticipant
I am also a newbie and a bit confused like Aidan.
Is it correct then that you always get to shot back unless you are iregular or out of dice from to much shoting?
Thomas12/01/2023 at 16:51 #182148
Yes. Irregular units can respond, but only once.14/01/2023 at 18:34 #182228
Papasan, Thank you for helping clear this up! I appreciate the thorough explanation, it really helps. I only ever get to play a game or two at a time before breaking for several months and subsequently rereading this section of the book. This helps a lot moving forward!
No worries, it engages the grey matter ! 🙂14/01/2023 at 18:45 #182229
Hello I am also a newbie and a bit confused like Aidan. Is it correct then that you always get to shot back unless you are irregular or out of dice from too much shooting? cheers Thomas
Yep, even if you lost the reaction test, provided you survive the incoming, pass the morale test (if required) and have the FP, you can fire back on the unit attacking yours. Irregulars can fire back but only if they haven’t fired before, as they can only fire once per turn. Depending on the situation they might not want to fire back but to save the shots for another intended target (eg if the incoming fire was a reaction to their attack on another target.)
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.