Home Forums Air and Sea Naval My First Black Seas Ship

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Volunteer
    Participant

I finished my first frigate tonight with a few additions of my own to make it look like the Chesapeake in my imagination.

https://volsminiatures.blogspot.com/2020/05/black-seas-frigate-chesapeake-finished.html?m=1

"Research is what I’m doing when I don’t know what I’m doing"
    Wernher von Braun

Noel
    Participant

All I see are pictures of a real ship.

Where is the painted model?

Well done! Looking forward to seeing more of your work with the big boys.

The blocks are nice. Love your backdrops, too.

–jeff

Self taught, persistently behind the times, never up to date. AKA ~ jeff
    More verbosity: http://petiteguerre.blogspot.com/

Volunteer
    Participant

Noel, wow thanks! That is a pretty nice compliment.

Jeff, thanks. The blocks were a last minute inspiration and I was surprised the idea turned out so well (and that I never thought of it before?) The backdrop is something I did back when I still had access to an 11×17 printer. I made several but in order to get them home in my travel bag, I had to fold them in half. So they all have this ugle crease in the center. I try to shoot to one side or the other to avoid “The Crease”! 😖

Wernher von Braun

@Vol, any suggestions for how to remove slack in lines that are already attached? I’ve been rigging a couple of 3rd raters and finding it very frustrating. Just this morning I discovered that my back stays were not even close to straight. How it happened I have no idea. On one ship I was able to loop the line over the royal spar (at the risk of bending/breaking the mast) and that took up the slack. But on this second ship I won’t be able to do that.