Home Forums General General Naming your warriors

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    craig cartmell
    Participant

Now that I have been playing IHMN, Daisho and Blood Eagle for several years I have found that one of the joys of the narrative style of play lies in creating heroes.
    This is something I, and indeed many others, have done by naming every single figure in their company/buntai/warband. This moves them from being Soldier A to being a little person in their own right.
    Then, when one of these lesser characters kills an enemy hero, achieves an objective etc., it starts a story that may well carry on into future battles.
    For example, I had a fun game of Blood Eagle with my regular gaming companions Phil and Hairy Dave last night. We have got into the habit of naming figures, initially the leaders and heroes, but more recently the rank and file as well.
    So last night, a lowly warrior with a battlehorn was named by me as Eifor the Tuneless. This fine viking made his way through several one-on-ones tootling his horn until the enemy finally decided to end him. He made his post-game survival check, so I feel his saga has only just begun.
    Do you name all your warriors, or just the leaders?
    Give us your best and most pun-ishing names 🙂

Cheers,
    Craig

The Ministry of Gentlemanly Warfare

Mike
    Keymaster

I don’t go in for the comedy names unless the game itself is a comedy/parody, so in RPG terms, serious names for all my characters except for games like Paranoia and so on.
    All my character names and place names for that matter are chosen carefully as the etymology is a part of me creating the world.

I don’t go in for naming minions/rank and file though.
    Just the main characters and or plot points.

🙂

Just Jack
    Participant

My best hero so far was Victoria Scallopeni, best villain was Vito Squirreleone.

V/R,

Jack

irishserb
    Participant