Home Forums WWII Rapid Fire Hannut 1940

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hannut May 1940 a Rapid Fire Game.

Whilst at Bovington wargame show this year I bumped into Steve and we got talking about Rapid Fire, I have been playing this set of rules on and off since about 1998, I have not played Rapid Fire for about 2 years.  Steve reminded me that I had an open invite up to Paington to game with Rodger and Andy (they asked me several years ago and I never took it up)

So on Friday afternoon 6th October I drove the short distance up to Andy’s house.  What a treat I was in for, in the garage there was a 12 foot square table (with a hole in the center for access) all ready for play.  I rolled on a D6 to find my side which was French, Darren got French and Andy, Steve and Geoff were the Germans.

Date May 1940

Place French / Belgium border

Mission French stop Germans, German stop the French and get as many of your forces off the French end of the table.

The French players had to write a column of route for all their forces and then each commander rolled a D6, I rolled a 6 and Darren rolled a 5.  This meant we had to place our forces 10 and 8 foot on the table in column of route.  This meant the Germans had less than a foot to deploy all their forces that were also in column of route, a logistic and road blockage nightmare.  Wheeled vehicles had to stay on roads (except motor cycles).

The scale is 20mm.

French left.

French right.

Geman commander ponders.

An other German commander ponders.

Action.

More German action.

French armour moving forward, the pink dots indicate that the tanks have moved this turn.  French tanks could either move or fire in this game a tactical pain in the bum for me.

Whilst the French tanks were more powerful than the Germans, they could move and fire, my tanks coming under pressure would soon retire.

More action.

Various views of the table with gamers in deep tactical discussion.

Units involved.