Home Forums Ambush Alley Games Force on Force Reaction and Rounds of Fire

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #43688
    Greg Taylor
    Participant

    Basically new to the rules, so I am trying to figure out some of the mechanics.

    Unit ‘A’ declares a tactical move and fire at enemy unit ‘1’.  The two units have a react roll off.  Unit ‘A’ passes, but unit ‘1’ fails.  Unit ‘A’ fires at ‘1’.  Unit ‘1’ passes its morale test.  Can it return fire since it fail it react test?

    Unit ‘B’ declares a tactical move and fire at enemy unit ‘1’, since ‘1’ failed its test earlier it cannot react, is that correct?  Unit ‘B’ fires at ‘1″, can ‘1’ return fire?

    Thank,

    Greg

    #43781
    Jon Winczek
    Participant

    Hey

    1. Yes you can return fire.

    2. True, you cannot react for the remainder of the turn if you failed to win reaction test.

    #43791
    Volker Pein
    Participant

    I’m not sure that the answer for the 2nd example is correct.

    This is a new round of fire and the unit 1 can return fire at unit B and to determine who go first in the round of fire a reaction test is rolled.

    The reaction test is based on the interaction between two units. So the failed roll from the action between unit A and 1 has no influence on the action between unit B and 1.

    Edit: unit 1 get for every reaction after the first a -1 fire power die and -1 inch movement. It can react with fire until there fire power is 0. If unit 1 is a irregular unit it can only act or react once per turn. So if it make a round of fire with unit A and after that unit B attack them they cannot return fire or move away.

    • This reply was modified 4 years, 8 months ago by Volker Pein.
    #43815
    Jon Winczek
    Participant

    Yeah

    I read again the whole given example from OP.

    So in that second situation unit ‘B’ (initiative side unit) is firing at unit (non-initiative side unit)’1′ and both of them roll TQ dice to determine who fires first.Lets say that ‘B’ won that TQ test so it fires first and then ‘1’ fires back (if it is able to). ‘1’ can fire back because it returns fire to unit which attacked them (‘B’ unit).

    Imagine situation where another additional units emerge on battlefield; ‘C'( initiative side) and ‘2’ (non-initiative side). ‘C’ takes position behind low wall and declares fire at unit ‘2’. Both units ‘1’ and ‘2’ have ‘C’ in their LOS and LOF. ‘2’ decides to react and to return fire. Theoretically ‘1’ could have reacted to ‘C’ also but as it previously lost its reaction so now it cannot react.

    So tu sum up:

    Non-initiative units that fail to win a Reaction test may not React for the remainder of
    the turn and may only return fire if fired upon (a Reaction test is still made to
    determine who fires first in the round of fire, though).

    Hope its more clear now.

    • This reply was modified 4 years, 8 months ago by Jon Winczek.
    • This reply was modified 4 years, 8 months ago by Jon Winczek.
    #43818
    Volker Pein
    Participant

    Got it. A unit lost his reaction possibilities when it fail to win a reaction test during the turn. It can only react on incoming fire with own return fire until the moment when it ran out of firepower dices.

    You find this rule on page 67 of the core rulebook. In the passage about reaction fire. Before the note about the irregulars.

    And I haven’t seen this rule…

    #43820
    Jon Winczek
    Participant

    Yes I found it at p. 67.

    Also there is a file, downloadable from Boardgamegeek, called “Force on Force Simplified” which contains essential rules extracted from chaotic FoF rulebook.
    However they missed that rule with diminishing 1 inch of movement after first reaction (p. 69 in rulebook).

    Greets

    #43824
    Greg Taylor
    Participant

    I would like to thank everyone for their input.  So to see if I get this right:

    Firing- if one unit shots at another, the other gets to shot back no matter what he might of rolled for react tests and he has the dice still to fire.

    Greg

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.