Home Forums Ambush Alley Games Tomorrow’s War Reaction Question

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Jörgen Andreasson 1 month ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #106333

    Graham O’Connor
    Participant

    Hey all, first time poster here.

    I think I have a solid grasp on the reaction system, but I couldn’t find an answer to this anywhere in the rulebook; if unit A decides to make a tactical move  and does NOT declare shooting as a part of its action while in LOS of unit B, and unit B declares a reaction, is unit A allowed to fire back? Or is the reaction test only to see if unit A can move first?

    Additionally; if unit C decides to move and fire at unit D, but unit D chooses to react, at what point is the reaction test made?

    Thanks,

    Poe1204

    #107394
    Robert Foran
    Robert Foran
    Participant

    Since Unit A chose only to move during its activation it my only return fire if it succeeds in a reaction test. If Unit A rolls higher than Unit B it will be able to fire before unit B can fire, if Unit B rolls higher and unit A rolls 4 or higher it my return fire if it is able, but should Unit A fail the reaction test (by rolling 3 or less) then they may not return fire.

    This comes down to the reaction test result. Obviously Unit D is trying to fire before Unit C can fire and Unit C would like to complete its move and then fire before Unit D can fire.

    If Unit C rolls 4 or higher and Unit D rolls 3 or less then Unit C completes its move and fires and Unit D may do nothing about it, because they failed to react.

    If both C and D roll 4 or higher but C rolls higher than D then Unit C completes its move and fire action and Unit D gets to return fire.

    If D rolls 4+ and rolls higher than C then Unit D can react at any point. After C has reacted, D may complete its Move and Fire action if it is able to.

    I think I covered everything.

    #107531
    telzy amber
    telzy amber
    Participant

    The last sentence… are not C and D reversed?

    #107618
    Robert Foran
    Robert Foran
    Participant

    The last sentence… are not C and D reversed?

    Yep, sorry, it should read: “…………….at any point. After D has reacted, C may complete its Move and Fire action if it is able to.”

    • This reply was modified 4 months, 1 week ago by Robert Foran Robert Foran.
    #113035

    Jörgen Andreasson
    Participant

    Ther are some wrongs in how reactions work here. A failed reaction roll does not mean you may not fire. A failed reaction roll might just mean you failed the opportunity to fire since the acting unit moved out of line of sight or something. So yes… If you roll less than the acting unit you fail to react and may only fire if fired upon, but you may still fire on the Acting unit if it ends its movement still in LOS of the reacting units. The Acting unit will on the other hand fire first in the “round of fire” that will play out between the two units.

    Although you loose one FP dice if you fail the reaction roll and never get to fire. A failed reaction roll also mean you may no longer react this turn on another acting unit.

    Once there is a “round of fire” then both sides get to shoot unless one side is irregulars who only may fire once per turn.

    If you fail the reaction roll as part of a “round of fire” you still get to fire. You just fire last in that instance.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.