04/07/2016 at 09:18 #44520smallchild139Participant
Its great to have a forum again!
Playing force on force/ambush valley and I am confused over hidden status of units. The simple question is if a unit fires does it lose its hidden status (and hence can be fired upon without needing to be spotted).
The long of it is…
A hidden VC unit in a hooch (Non initiative unit) reacts to a US unit moving towards the hooch by firing. A unit on overwatch wants to fire on the VC unit but is outside optimum range so cannot spot a hidden unit and cannot fire. Seems OK to me.
A hidden VC unit (non initiative) ambushes a US unit outside the US unit’s optimum range, forcing the US unit back into cover. If the VC unit stays hidden (even after firing) can they “ambush” the US unit again? This would gain the VC unit an advantage by only needing a TQ roll to trigger the ambush.
I am guessing that Hidden means “you know someone is there but you cannot see them well enough to target them successfully” so I can see how a firing unit can still be hidden.
Any help on this appreciated.
Thanks in advance for any help.
It is forbidden to kill; therefore all murderers are punished unless they kill in large numbers and to the sound of trumpets.-Voltaire06/07/2016 at 02:00 #44576Shawn CarpenterParticipant
This is a case where we didn’t spell things out clearly in the rules. Hidden units are automatically spotted when they fire, unless they are Elusive or are a Stealthy unit using Suppressed Weapons.
Once a Hidden unit is spotted, it stays spotted until it moves to a location that is completely out of LOS of any enemy units. Moving to a different corner of a hooch wouldn’t count. 😉
www.ambushalleygames.net06/07/2016 at 17:03 #44620smallchild139Participant
Thanks Shawn, happy with that.
Great to have a forum back up and running.
It is forbidden to kill; therefore all murderers are punished unless they kill in large numbers and to the sound of trumpets.-Voltaire07/07/2016 at 20:03 #44689Jon WinczekParticipant
Hey regarding hidden and elusive units but in conjunction with night fighting rules.
In Hunted Hunters scenario (Classified) there are 4 US teams and additional one scout team with night vision device. Scenario is set in night and night fighting rules apply. Only scout team has night vision device. Does only scout team benefit from NVD (engaging enemy without night fighting penalties) and each remaining unit acts on their own, i.e. night fighting penalty ?
Or are the scouts able to guide remaining units to spotted enemy – enemy is not elusive to scouts but for others also?
In my opinion according to rulebook the former option (no guiding) is right, but maybe latter option could happen in real battle…
22/07/2016 at 17:55 #45273Shawn CarpenterParticipant
- This reply was modified 4 years, 7 months ago by Jon Winczek.
Yep, only the Scouts get the benefit of having NVGs. The rest of the force suffers from the night fighting penalty.
www.ambushalleygames.net08/08/2016 at 18:49 #46090Jon WinczekParticipant
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.