Home Forums Modern Team Whiskey – Fulda Gap Batrep 3 Part I

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Just Jack
    Participant

All,

I’ve got a lot going on in real life, so I’m trying something I’ve never done before: I’m releasing a batrep in ‘installments.’ So please bear with me, this isn’t permanent, but I hope it tides you over while I work on the rest.

It’s 0930 on 3 August 1986, and the Soviet 8th Guards Army is taking an operational pause, i.e., going over to the defensive temporarily, due to heavy casualties laid on by 11th ACR and 3rd Armored Division. Of course, NATO forces are fairly beaten up as well, and air superiority, upon which so much of NATO’s operational plans are dependent (to have close air support and middle-interdiction to off-set the Soviet advantage in men and material). V Corps decides to take a gamble in its sector to help get its air support back on track.

The Soviets, largely due to the traffic jam ensuing in the wake of an unplanned operational pause (and which they are working on clearing up), have wound up with considerable air defense assets pushed far forward in Team Whiskey’s sector. And so V Corps has ordered Team Whiskey to conduct a local counterattack on 8th Guards Army forces, with the primary mission to identify and destroy Soviet air defense assets in the objective area, and the secondary mission being simply to punch Soviet armored elements in the mouth to help keep them off-balance.