18/07/2016 at 19:23 #45110Keith ShulerParticipant
I am new to Force on Force and have read through the “Infantry” section of the rules thus far. I believe I have a fair understanding of how a turn runs, but would benefit from a visual or step by step explanation of an actual game. Thus far, I have been unable to find a good example on the net. Could any of you suggest a good site? I believe I understand the action-reaction sequence fairly well, but just want to see it acted out or explained in a complex encounter, say 4 units on 4 units, just to get a better feel for what can and does happen and when. I will say this, I’ve gamed since 1970 (we used to move dinosaurs and rocks around the table…I’m so old) but have avoided modern combat because I’ve never liked any of the rules that came out. But Force on Force is something I really can’t wait to paint, build and play. Reads like it will be fun. Anyway, any help would useful.
Keith19/07/2016 at 00:22 #45114Paul DeehanParticipant22/07/2016 at 15:18 #45264Keith ShulerParticipant
Thanks Paul, the videos are helpful. However, I have a question on the first one. The irregulars lost their reaction test, so they don’t get to fire at the squad that moved. This means that they are not allowed to react any further in the turn. So, if the second squad moved, they couldn’t do anything about it. Makes sense.
But here’s the question: Can’t they fire back at the squad that fired at them? They aren’t reacting, they’re returning fire and as such I think that they can return fire, right?
According to the rule half way down the right hand column on page 67 :”Non-initiative units that fail to win a Reaction test may not React for the remainder of the turn and may only return fire if fired upon (a Reaction test is still made to determine who fires first in the round of fire, though). Note that Irregular units may only React with fire once per turn.”
So, because the unit fired on them, they do a TQ test to see who fires first. If they have anybody left standing they can return fire, or so it would seem. The catch comes if the 2nd squad had decided to move, right? The unit that tried to react couldn’t do a thing to stop them because they failed the reaction test.
Furthermore, lets say they had fired on the first squad that moved, then if the second squad move or fired, then the bad guys are hosed according to the rule on page 113:
“Irregular units may only React once per turn. They may only move or fire once per turn. They may not be placed on Overwatch. Irregular units who React to a Regular units may not be activated in the End Phase.”
Because, in this case, they’ve already reacted their one time and they’ve already fired their one time.
Am I right on this?
Sorry to sound so dense about this, just want to make sure I’m getting it right.
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.