Home Forums Air and Sea Naval War by Sail (New Age of Sail Ruleset)

This topic contains 17 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Paul Cordell Paul Cordell 2 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    NKL Aerotom
    NKL Aerotom
    Participant

Greetings all, I’ve been working on an age of sail wargame for the past 3 months, if anyone would like to be part of the playtesting, you can send me an email at:

[email protected]

I’ve covered Lepanto, the Spanish Armada, and the first 3 Anglo-Dutch wars so far – included are the stats for generic ships as well as large lists of individual named ships. I have only done the points values for the generic ships, as we are still playtesting the balance. Once the balance is deemed solid, I will do the points for all the named ships.

I’ve been drawing heavily on the threedecks forum for the details of the specific weapons carried by the various ships, as well as various research sources. I have had to make some educated guesses on some of the armaments and weapon positions though.

McKinstry
    Participant

I’ll give it a look over this weekend. Roughly how many ships on a side have you found practicable?

Never wrestle with a pig. You both get muddy and the pig just likes it.

Thaddeus Blanchette
    Thaddeus Blanchette
    Participant

I am very interested in these as a way of refighting the Portuguese/Dutch colonial wars of the 16th century.

Just nit-picking here, but I’d quibble with the Portuguese ships of the Armada being classifed as unweatherly. They were the most modern ships the Spanish had and, IIRC, all of them survived the voyage around the British Isles.

We get slapped around, but we have a good time!

Thaddeus Blanchette
    Thaddeus Blanchette
    Participant