Home Forums General General What is your most obsessive thing?

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Shhh… don’t tell anyone but gamers can be a tad obsessive. I often tell people to paint to their own level of obsession–it’s the only way to hobby happiness. But I may have crossed the line.

I just spent two+ hours giving 90 white golf tees two coats of white paint and a coat of gloss finish. Why? I want to use them as ‘moved’ markers in a game and didn’t want the florescent orange golf-tee-logo showing.

So what’s your most obsessive act? (Please keep it gaming related 😉 )

Self taught, persistently behind the times, never up to date. AKA ~ jeff
    More verbosity: http://petiteguerre.blogspot.com/

Participant

I am pretty fixated on the ‘right’ color paint. I have a significant number of specialized naval paint sets and way too many Polish crimson and French aurore given that scale, lighting and primer color probably make ‘right’ a silly concept not to mention real world dirt, grime, fading and wear.

The tree of Life is self pruning.

Participant

Other gamers touching my figures with greasy and or dirty hands after eating.

Participant

Collecting rule books, both dead tree and electronic. I have that many I wouldn’t be able to play all of them of them one day after another in a decade!

Tally-Ho! Check out my blog at…..
    http://steelcitywargaming.wordpress.com/

I “collect” plastic plants for terrain-crafting. I probably have nearly 100 different varieties by now. Furthermore, I’m rarely happy with the way they look in their original form, so I cut them up and “reassemble” them, leaf by leaf, blade by blade, frond by frond, into more realistic shapes. Most of them being made of oily plastic that doesn’t take glue or paint well, I spend a lot of time experimenting with different glues, paints and techniques for finding best practices. I’m fully aware I must seem a bit deranged even to other hobbyists.