Forum Replies Created
29/01/2023 at 23:18 in reply to: Finding Additional Scenarios For GamesSmall Scale Symmetric #182774
Thanks Maggico! That’s an awesome resource. Thank you both for the advice and resources, game 1 of the campaign was last night. I had already written around 6-8 scenarios but will look to Road to Baghdad and the Tactical Decision Games to get inspiration for the others!26/01/2023 at 21:27 in reply to: Finding Additional Scenarios For GamesSmall Scale Symmetric #182690
Papasan and Maggico,
Thanks for the answers! I’ll definitely look into those then!
Maggico, I am doing a Taiwan themed campaign. I’ll try out the road to Bagdad then!
Aidan21/01/2023 at 06:35 in reply to: Stats For ZBD 05 #182494
Thanks to you both! Appreciate the advice. Glad to have some numbers people think are reasonable even if we don’t know exactly how “accurate” everything is.05/01/2023 at 04:09 in reply to: More Newbie Questions on Reactions #181867
Thank you for helping clear this up! I appreciate the thorough explanation, it really helps. I only ever get to play a game or two at a time before breaking for several months and subsequently rereading this section of the book. This helps a lot moving forward!03/01/2023 at 04:34 in reply to: Stats For ZBD 05 #181785
Thanks maggico, that’s pretty much what I was thinking of doing so I’m glad it seems reasonable. I wasn’t sure if I was missing something.12/11/2022 at 21:45 in reply to: More Newbie Questions on Reactions #180096
Firstly, thank you for your reply. I appreciate the timely nature and your effort in doing so! Second, though this seems logical to me (and is how I used to play it) I cannot find anything in the rulebook to support this interpretation, which is why I asked.
From the book “When the player with initiative announces that he is activating a unit to move and/or fire within line of sight of opposing units, those units may choose to React with fire or movement of their own. These Reactions may result in an exchange of fire (called a Round of Fire) or a frenzied rush for cover.”
and then later
“Non-initiative units may choose to React to the actions of an initiative unit within their Line of Sight by engaging it in a round of normal or Suppression fire. As with Reaction movement, a Reaction Test must be made to see if the Reaction fire occurs before or after the initiative
unit’s declared action (See Reaction Tests, pg. 68). If the non-initiative unit wins the Reaction Test, the Round of Fire will be resolved before the initiative unit performs its declared actions. If that action is to return fire, the non-initiative unit will fire first in the Round of Fire.
If the initiative unit wins the Reaction Test, the initiative unit will fire first in the round of fire.
Non-initiative units lose one die of firepower for each reaction fire they declare after the first. Noninitiative units may continue to React with fire as long as they have remaining Firepower dice. Non-initiative units that fail to win a Reaction test may not React for the
remainder of the turn and may only return fire if fired upon (a Reaction test is still made to determine who fires first in the round of fire, though). Note that Irregular units may only React with fire once per turn.” This seems to support your idea but for the fact that again it only ever mentions non initiative units reacting to fire of initiative units.
Finally. for the order of reactions:
“Once all Reaction Tests have been rolled, resolve
Reactions in which the non-initiative units lost the
Reaction Test. Start with the non-initiative unit
nearest to the activated initiative unit and work
outward, resolving each Reaction in turn.
Finally, resolve all Reactions in which the noninitiative
unit won the Reaction Test. Start with
the non-initiative unit nearest to the activated
initiative unit and work outward, resolving each
Reaction in turn.”
This seems like a bizarre order to me too.
I hope I don’t come across as too bothersome in this post, I appreciate your response and am only trying to explain my confusion and hoepfully find a resolution with support in the rulebook so I don’t teach the new players I will be showing the game anything incorrect.
Thanks,11/11/2022 at 22:49 in reply to: In Cover Question #180084
Well I know this post is two years old now but I’ll add that I agree with dirk bracke’s interpretation that you have to remain stationary to be “in cover”. Regular troops are just smart enough to always know to do it when they don’t move.15/05/2022 at 05:09 in reply to: Newbie Questions #172942
Thanks Geoff! That all makes sense to me and so I think I’ll be playing it that way. Only thing is for part 3 I was asking about the additional +1 defense dice you get for being “in cover” in addition to the one you get for being “behind cover”. Regular units might normally do it automatically I think if they don’t move? Not sure. Your points on how to assign casualties really help and that’s what we’ll be doing going forward!