Home Forums General General Meh CBA

Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • Author

Have you ever just gotten so fed up with a project that you jacked it in?

I used to play 6mm ‘Napoleonics’ but the amount of figures I needed to achieve my ultimate goal just eventually put me off.
    I sat down and worked out that at a 100 figures a week it would take a few years or something, of painting, so I sighed, cried and gave up.
    In fact it put me off the period so much I sold off all my historical stock and started making my own range of 6mm sci-fi.

Anything ever demoralised you so much you just gave up and did something else?

Participant

Like you AB, Napoleonics was my bugbear, I’ve started collections in three different scales and dumped all of them because of the precise issue you highlighted concerning just how much effort is required to produce an army. I am a dreadfully slow painter which is why I tend to stick to WW2 and Modern in 6mm, because even I can paint stuff green in a reasonable amount of time 😉

Participant

I’ve also abandoned a naps project in both 28mm and 15mm, I also chucked in my 28mm & 20mm WW2 bits to concentrate on 6mm which is coming along nicely for once. It seems like I give up on most things not 6mm nowadays, though my 28mm spy-fi and cult TV is steadily growing.

Mike

"This lighthouse is under attack, and by morning we may all be dead!" The 4th Doctor - Horror of Fang Rock

Participant

Why are Napoleonics such a problem, especially in microscales? I am a slow painter and I have huge armies in 2mm (enough to do Leipzig), 3mm and now I ammworking on 6mm.

3mm is a godsend for the lazy Napoleonics player. But even in 6mm and working slow, I knocked off a couple of regiments this weekend.

Just how big was your project, AB? I am doing 32 figure infantry battalions and plan, ultimately, on corps-sized armies.

We get slapped around, but we have a good time!

ah well you see, I was doing 1 figure = 1 man.