Home Forums General General Why Do You Change Rulesets?

Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Considering one thing and another, I got to wonder about changing rulesets and why people do it.  What has caused you to change playing a ruleset that you were enjoying?

Participant

Usually curiosity to see how they ‘feel’. I’m mostly a solo player so I’m not too influenced by the rules du jour.

Self taught, persistently behind the times, never up to date. AKA ~ jeff
    More verbosity: http://petiteguerre.blogspot.com/

Participant

Mainly because we stopped enjoying it. The outcome of the games became too predictable. I cannot discount fads and fashions too though. New shiny rules come along and we have to try them out. I’ve lost count of the number of 15mm sci fi rules sets we have played, but, fads aside, each offers something different. Perhaps it’s a new rules mechanism, or perhaps it’s a different approach or style. I don’t think we have ever found the One True Rules Set that will make all others obsolete.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll only drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

https://roderickdale.co.uk/
    https://emidsvikings.ac.uk/

George Mallory famously claimed he would climb mountains because “I can”.

I, less famously, change rule sets because I can.

The power of setting the parameters to suit yourself is certainly an attraction in a hobby that seems to be filled with anarchists and individuals.

donald

Participant

My ruleset progression has broadly been away from overly-detailed, fiddly, attritional/predictable rules for small scale actions towards cleaner, faster, streamlined rules that get full battles done in a shorter time and with more entertaining variability along the way.

I wrote an essay on my blog a while ago that perhaps gives a more general / partial answer to the question:

https://bloodybigbattles.blogspot.com/2015/11/wargames-how-much-war-how-much-game.html

Chris