Home Forums Renaissance Aztec War Canoes

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Participant

First project of 2022 – Aztec War Canoes

Aztec War Canoes for the Spanish Conquest

Mark A. Morin

Participant

Those look great, Mark. The 3d-model striations really do impart a carved wood texture to them.

Can’t wait to see the brigantines. Long, long ago in college I did a paper on Cortes’ use of the vessels at Tenochtitlan. At the time (and that was 40 years ago!), not much was known as to what form the Spanish boats would have actually taken. I’m sure more research has taken place since then so it will be interesting to see what you uncover.

–jeff

Self taught, persistently behind the times, never up to date. AKA ~ jeff
    More verbosity: http://petiteguerre.blogspot.com/

Participant

Those have turned out extremely well, Mark. I’ve always thought games set on the lake featuring canoes and brigantines, or better, on both the lake and causeways, hold a lot of appeal and could make for some great games. Thank you for sharing this latest installment!

Participant

Those look great, Mark. The 3d-model striations really do impart a carved wood texture to them. Can’t wait to see the brigantines. Long, long ago in college I did a paper on Cortes’ use of the vessels at Tenochtitlan. At the time (and that was 40 years ago!), not much was known as to what form the Spanish boats would have actually taken. I’m sure more research has taken place since then so it will be interesting to see what you uncover. –jeff

Thanks Jeff – the challenge was that some striations are bad while others are good .  As for the brigantines, they are coming and are up in priority this year.  I’ll probably have to make some reasonable assumptions (as I have with the rules in the supplement that was updated on Sally 4th (if you want to check it out).

Mark A. Morin

Participant

Very cool and they look good!!

Participant

very impressive 🙂