Home Forums General General Terminology…

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Keymaster

I am often known to moan about grammar, less vs. fewer and such like.
    I am far from an expert on the subject, as reading half the stuff I write will show you.

But I am wondering about scale vs. size vs. ratio.

6mm is say 1/300th or 1/285th as is commonly accepted.
    With my Angel Barracks hat on I normally refer to my stuff as 6mm ‘scale’ , everyone knows what that means.

But is scale the correct word, would ratio not be better?
    Looking at various definitions I would see an argument that scale could be used when saying 6mm, just as size could.
    But ratio would seem to fit 1/285th better.

Oh, and another reason I call 6mm a scale and not call 6mm models 1/300th is because they are not 1/300th.
    The height may be correct at a ratio of 1:300 but the thickness of limbs and so on most certainly is not.
    So I would argue that 6mm models are never true scale or true ratio as they would be massively grotesque if made 300 times bigger, but then isn’t that true of many wargames models…?

Anyway, just a thought around wargaming terminology that sometimes catches people out.

Participant

I think ‘scale’ was simply the term adopted by the model railway types, who in the early days at least were far more numerous than us, and so its stuck. Interesting point though. FWIW, it use the term scale for model size, and ratio for working out relative unit sizes, and army sizes, for scenarios.

http://sparkerswargames.blogspot.com.au/
    'Blessed are the peacekeepers, for they shall need to be well 'ard'
    Matthew 5:9

Participant